The De-escalation Room

The de-escalation room has become a room I have spent many hours being restrained in. It’s a small room with a few soft chairs and that’s it. I just wanted to share what it feels like to be in that room.

It’s scary, suffocating, closed in. Utter panic runs through my veins and frustration bubbles, boils and overflows as the actions anorexia wants me to take are stopped forcibly. I want to cry and scream and shout and kick and sometimes I do. Overwhelming. Terrifying. Darker than dark. That’s what it feels like to be in there. Locked in.

But I understand it, I understand why I am there. It’s for my own safety and wellbeing I know but that doesn’t make it any easier especially when anorexia has taken over.

I’m in a scary place right now and de-escalation has become the place where I spend most my time. Sad really to think that life has come to this.

4 thoughts on “The De-escalation Room

  1. I’m so glad to see you continuing to post Claire. Sending you love and (((hugs))). I’ve such admiration for you amd faith in your future. Take care lovely. I hope things will soon be at least a little easier for you. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment