One Month To Go

A month today I will be transferring from the hospital I’m currently in to my new unit, Cygnet in Coventry. I know pretty much nothing about the place which terrifies me. I have no idea about routine, about whether I’ll be allowed my iPad/internet or what the deal is with visitors. I will be going to a place I’ve never been to with people I’ve never met and will be expected to stay there for a long time.

I’m dreading my last night in this hospital, I doubt I’ll sleep knowing what will happen the next day and I will be very sad to say goodbye to the staff here. I’m scared to leave, I’m used to the staff, the routine, everything. I know where I am and what is happening. I don’t want to leave that.

I’m dreading the car journey down there despite it being with staff I’m very close to. Those two hours will be full of anxiety and fear. It’ll be like a very long goodbye and goodbyes are never nice.

I can’t even begin to imagine how alone and scared I’ll feel tucked into my new bed on my first night there, so many miles away from everything and everyone I know.

My only hope is that I win my appeal at my mental health tribunal later this month otherwise a month today this will be the reality I face.

One thought on “One Month To Go

  1. It’s hard when it is a change of routine that you know and I hope everything is done to help ease this worry for you.
    Do you think in the meantime, ask the staff if you can have a leaflet of what to expect at the new place, so that maybe you are allowed to read it now and hopefully it will ease your mind a little. With the technology these days, you should all being well get one off the staff if they email them for a leaflet to attach to an email for you and they can print it off for you to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

