Stop Sending Internet Hate: It Is Not Good For Anyone’s Mental Health

Recently I’ve been receiving a lot of hate and bullying over the Internet…this has taken shape in many different forms including comments and private messages. A lot of the time I delete the hate and block the user but that doesn’t stop it having an impact on myself, my feelings and my day.

For starters sending Internet hate is not good for my mental health. It has the power to bringing me crashing back down to the lowest of the depths of depression even on a seemingly good day. For example on my birthday I received hate because I had a birthday cake I didn’t eat and was told I didn’t deserve it….it made me feel so incredibly guilty and the self hatred soared. Another day I woke to a private message telling me I was a dumb anorexic and should just eat. That wasn’t a nice way to start the day.

It’s not only me that the hate directed at me has an impact on. It spreads to the people around me who have to see me in turmoil but also it affects other people on the Internet who see the hate and it prevents people from being open and honest. It installs fear in people.

Internet hate must also have an impact on the sender themselves. I wouldn’t want to live with myself if I had spent the day saying horrible things to people. I can’t imagine the guilt and self hatred they must feel so please if it’s you sending the hate stop sending it and if you’re on the receiving end know that you are not alone.

2 thoughts on “Stop Sending Internet Hate: It Is Not Good For Anyone’s Mental Health

  1. Oh my gosh I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Have you reported the people who are harrassing you? (If you don’t mine me asking, was it on Facebook or Twitter?)

    People are vicious on the Internet because they think they can say whatever they want without repercussions because they’re “anonymous.” It’ll catch up to them eventually, I’m sure of it.

    Don’t mind them sweetie. They don’t know your story and they’re probably jealous of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

