The Importance of Visitors

Being in hospital can be a very lonely and isolating experience. I know this myself having spent the past 18 months in hospital, I haven’t seen my grandparents, aunts and uncles, my goddaughter and most of my friends and most days I really, really miss them. I understand that seeing a loved one so poorly can be heartbreaking and many people don’t know if the person is even up for a visit.

This afternoon was lovely, I saw my ballet teacher, my friends and their four year old son and my parents and not only did it make the afternoon fly by but it brightened up my day. I feel like I am a part of the world around me, like I’m connected to society again and people haven’t forgotten about me.

My message is this: visitors are so important during long inpatient stays. I really miss a lot of people who were in my life 18 months ago and it means the world to see their faces even if it’s only for a few minutes.

So thank you to the people who have visited me and to those of you considering visiting a loved one in hospital, please do. It makes the world of difference.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Visitors

  1. I am sure thiks pkst hhas toucched alll tthe internnet users, itts reaally eally fastidious piece of writin oon uilding upp neww
    weblog. I’ve been surfing oline mor than 3 hours today, yyet I ndver fouind aany nteresting afticle lie yours.
    It is petty wotth ejough ffor me. In myy view, iff alll webmkasters andd bloggers mwde gold clntent as youu did, thhe internert wiill be mucch mor useful thzn evdr
    before. It’s the bet time tto makee sme plans ffor thhe future
    andd it’s time tto be happy. I’ve ead tnis post andd
    iff I coupd I wiksh tto sugbest you feew interesting things oor tips.
    Maybe youu ccan write next artices refereing too ths
    article. I desirte too red eve more thiings aboit it! http://cspan.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

