Eating Disorders Awareness Week 2016

This week has been eating disorders awareness week and today is Sock It To Eating Disorders Day. I’ve been unable to blog during my 5 month (and continuing) stay on the psychiatric ward but I just wanted to bring your attention to this week with some blasts from the past.

My Fixers film ‘Sectioned’ focused on my experience of being sectioned for my eating disorder. I wanted to tell people about the reality of these illnesses and the difficulties that come along with recovery.

I think it’s important that people are careful when posting about eating disorder awareness on social media as sometimes people post their low weight pictures which leads to competition, triggering others but also reinforcing stereotypes. I wrote an article on this for The Huffington Post. You can read this HERE

You can also check out 101 things that no one tells you about anorexia HERE

Get your silly socks out, have fun raising awareness and if you can, donate to b-eat the eating disorder charity HERE

2 thoughts on “Eating Disorders Awareness Week 2016

  1. Claire, I’ve been watching you for a while now and I think you’re so brave. This video. You’re so sweet and kind, I’m sorry you have to go through this I mean that. I have my own mental health issues, pretty fucking bad ones and am working on writing about them (I’ve kept them private for a long time) but I’m 24 and you’re younger than me and you’re inspiring me with what you do and your honesty. You’re braver than most. And published on Huffington Post? Wow. Fair play girl. Bet your parents are proud.
    Thank you for breaking down the stigma, it’s working.

    Like

  2. Hi. I’m pretty sure most mental disorders stem from one’s childhood. Perhaps you should look into it and find the answers there. Perhaps it’s not only school bullies, but your own very family and their remarks that drove you into the current state? Realising that might bring some relief.

    Like

Leave a Reply

