Mindfulness: A Way To Manage Waiting Room Anxiety

I know how tough waiting rooms can be, how the seconds feel like hours as you wait to be weighed at the eating disorder clinic or you wait for your psychologist to call you in for your session and especially when you’re at your GP after realising there is a problem. I’ve spent many years sat in waiting rooms and I still find it anxiety provoking and difficult but I’ve come up with a technique to help me to stay in the moment and I wanted to share it with you.

Firstly: The ABC game. Find something in the room beginning with A, B, C, D all the way through to Z. No cheating, no skipping letters. Yes X is difficult but look on posters and you might find it.

Secondly: If you are still waiting after finding your A-Z then try colours. Find something red, yellow, orange, blue, pink and so on.

Distract your mind with these mindful games whilst you try to sit with a relaxed and open posture.

3 thoughts on “Mindfulness: A Way To Manage Waiting Room Anxiety

  1. Can’t recommend the ABC game enough. I used it to be aware of my surroundings when walking alone for the first time in months. I would usually be so anxious that I would stare at my feet and panic unable to take even the first step but eventually with practice I managed to walk first with someone watching me and then alone building up the distance. And the mindfulness of colour has helped me see the world in a new light. Rather than hide away inside I would sit on the bench and look for everything red that I could see then orange and so on. Both these mindfulness excercises taught me to be more aware of the world around me and do you know what, it eventually became less scary and I learnt again to do things by myself. Thanks for sharing Claire- great tips! X

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for sharing these tips. I think they will come in very useful for my many hours spent in waiting rooms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

