A realisation

In the DBT group I attend we do a mindful eating activity every week. Normally I avoid taking part as much as I possibly can and often won’t even look at the food in my hand and think about something totally different but last time I fully participated and was shocked at what I noticed.

This time we were mindfully eating dried mango. I normally see colours in blocks but I looked at the piece of dried mango in my hand and saw all different shades of yellow and orange and I couldn’t help but think maybe that says something about how we see the world. That the world around us isn’t just black and white, it’s made up of all sorts but we never look close enough to see or even realise that we aren’t looking closely enough.

One thought on “A realisation

Leave a Reply

