Where Has Society’s Compassion Gone?

I was deeply saddened this morning to learn that someone had taken their life on the Victoria Line but I was even more saddened by the reactions that I read on Twitter. I thought our society valued human life and did whatever was possible to stop human suffering but I was wrong as quickly people’s commutes seemed to become more important than the life lost.

Among some of the disgusting and heartless tweets were:

“Always in rush hour on a Monday selfish b*stards”

“Who decides to kill them self on a Monday morning #selfish”

“If someone wants to kill themselves they should do it in their own time not when it interferes with others”

Where has society’s compassion gone? I thought we were beginning to become more educated about mental health and suicide. I thought we had the emotional intelligence to think beyond a delayed train and see the painful and upsetting reality of the situation. The person who died on the Victoria Line today is someone’s child, they may be someone’s parent or sibling, they’ve got neighbours, they’ve probably got friends. The devastation and upset their death will bring is unimaginable. Think about the train driver, any witnesses, the police and paramedics that have to get the body. It is traumatising and upsetting for so many people. You will get to work eventually today but that person, they will never feel the sun on their skin or send another Christmas card. Can you imagine how horrific that person must have been feeling?! The emotional and mental pain must have been unbearable, and the physical pain of the way they died…I can’t even think about it.

You might have been delayed this morning, you might have had to take a different route to work but you are still alive and count yourself lucky if you didn’t know the person who died because we all think we are so far away from suicide but when my best friend died from suicide it was so unexpected. I can almost guarantee that each and every one of us know someone who has seriously contemplated suicide.

We are a wealthy country, let’s start valuing human life more than a delayed train.

7 thoughts on “Where Has Society’s Compassion Gone?

  1. This is very similar to something I read on facebook the other day, someone put that they had been delayed going to work coz someone had “selfishly” decided to jump off a bridge. There was people commenting saying things like “couldnt they have done it somewhere else where it didnt interfere with there plans” and “how inconsiderate they were” and “how selfish they were and how little sympathy they had for them” I was absolutely horrified seriously do people not realise how much it takes for someone to actually do that, how much of a bad place they must have been in and how little compassion and thought human beings actually have for others these days đŸ˜¦ xxxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s awful. Although the death affected me (I was late for school), all I could think about is how upsetting it must’ve been for their family and friends. I guess that is one of the reasons holding me back from taking my life. But instead of saying “omg you made me late hang yourself in private !!”, talk about how sad it was. It’s so dreadful when you see how insensitive people can be.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

