How To Manage Feelings Of Guilt After Eating:

This was set as homework for me by my dietitian but I thought it might be helpful to share my list of coping strategies with others.

How to manage feelings of guilt after eating:

  • Go for a walk, don’t over exercise or do it to compensate though. Be cautious of using this one. It can be helpful but it could turn become disordered.
  • Have a bath.
  • Paint your nails.
  • Do a jigsaw puzzle.
  • Puzzlebooks.
  • Watch something.
  • Play a game.
  • Talk to someone.
  • Listen to music.
  • Play with a pet.
  • Social networking or blogging.
  • Collaging.
  • Reading.
  • Cleaning/tidying/organising.
  • Make an amazon wishlist.
  • Writing.

I think the most important thing is that it grabs your attention. I know that my concentration isn’t the best so it works better for me to do something like a jigsaw than to watch something. It has to work for you.

2 thoughts on “How To Manage Feelings Of Guilt After Eating:

  1. Good idea to share some of these coping strategies. It gives the post a positive edge, which is nice to see. Like you, I always find it more helpful to keep my hands occupied than to try and concentrate on something. My Dietician used to tell me I was allowed to walk as far as the front door and back, lol.

    Keep at it – I’m rooting for you xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

