One Mindfully

We live in such a busy society that it has become the norm to multitask, in fact I think there is often an expectation that people should do it. I know I’m guilty of it: emailing under the table whilst holding a conversation, eating whilst writing or tweeting. Texting whilst having a conversation with my family AND watching TV. I even started exercising and taking phone calls in the bath. Multitasking is certainly possible but it is not effective and neither is it good for our mental health. I often get stressed out and exhausted with all the different thoughts that race through my head and feeling like I don’t get a minute to myself. This is why I think that ‘one mindfully’ is an incredibly important skill.

One mindfully is all about learning to focus on being in the present, focusing on what we are doing and what is happening in the moment. The idea is to do one thing at a time so that we can give our full attention to what we are doing but it also helps us to feel completely present and have the experience of what we are doing. When was the last time you brushed your teeth and noticed the colour of your toothpaste and focused on cleaning each part of your mouth? I’m sure many people do the same that I do…I often brush my teeth whilst doing other things and thinking of other things. I might get the job done but I haven’t acknowledged that I am brushing my teeth, I haven’t experienced brushing my teeth and I probably haven’t done the best job I could do.

Do one thing at a time! If you are eating, eat. If you are walking, walk. Give everything you do your full attention. Let go of distractions and go back to what you are doing again and again. Concentrate your mind, if you find yourself doing two things at a time, stop and go back to one thing at a time.

It does feel unnatural because it is the opposite of multitasking which is something we have all learnt to do and often feel is necessary but you will feel better and you will be much more effective if you do.

 One mindfully: Be in the moment

6 thoughts on “One Mindfully

  1. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog soin but I’m having a hard time choosing
    between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your desivn and style seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

  2. Hi there, I discovered your site by way of Google whilst
    looking for a similar subject, your web site came up, it seems great.

    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply became alert to your weblog through Google,
    and located that it’s truly informative. I am gonna be careful
    for brussels. I will appreciate in case you proceed this in future.

    Many folks will probably be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness! Incredible arficle dude! Thank you, However I am experiencing issues with your
    RSS. I don’t know the reason why I cannot subscribe to it.

    Is there anybody else having the same RSS issues? Anybody who knows
    the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    Like

  4. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment
    (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blpog writer
    but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Like

    1. Hiya, sorry for some reason my blog put some comments in my spam box.
      I’m not too well right now so apologies for the short message but I think the most important thing when blogging is to say what YOU feel is important but rethink have some guidelines on how to approach sensitive topics like suicide.
      Wishing you all the best xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

